The Hardest Year

As this year inches towards its close, I want to take some time to reflect. I can honestly say that I’ve never been as challenged as I was in 2016. Everything that I thought I was certain about in life was pulled out from underneath me. On the last day of March, I was struck by a drunk driver and it kind of turned my world upside down (or right side up) depending on your perspective.

Up until that point I had been running on fumes in my relationship, my career, my friendships, ignoring my own needs and what needed healing. Sometimes dropping out of the day-to-day striving can feel like the scariest thing because it takes courage to really take stock of our lives and acknowledge what might need to be changed, especially if it’s something really big.

That car accident may have seemed like a burden at the time on top of everything I had going on, but looking back, I really see it as a blessing in disguise. It gave me the wakeup call I needed to make some major life changes that I’m not sure I would have made otherwise. Who knows how much longer I would have stayed on that track if not for something unexpected knocking me (literally) off of it?

As 2016 comes to a close I just thank God for all of the silver linings. Going through major heartbreak and uncertainty can certainly take its toll but it also creates this beautiful space for love to come in. I’ve never felt closer to my family and friends. They have been my rock and it is really their strength that has renewed my faith and made me excited for what lies ahead. As the saying goes, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, and I’ve never felt as strong as I do today.

Whatever you may be going through right now, I’m here to tell you that your burdens are your greatest blessings in this life and there is light up ahead. You just have to keep waking up, staying grateful for what you have, and always in search of the silver lining.

Wishing every single one of you joy, peace, and light in the coming year!

Maryn-Sig

7 comments

  1. Hi Maryn,
    This is a beautiful and inspiring post. Thank you for sharing with us. I’m glad you are OK and you are able to see the blessings in the challenges. You are an amazing human being. Keep spreading your sunshine! 🙂
    -Duane

Leave a comment