A New Beginning

Last year when I was beginning to take my first steps after a breakup and into a cross-country move my friend said to me, “Sometimes you have to break your own heart to set yourself free.” That could not have been more true for me at that moment. The changes I was making felt overwhelming — tectonic shifts in the foundation of my life. Everything I had known for so long was becoming undone.

What got me through it was a small voice inside that said, “You will survive this.” That little bit of faith that made me believe that I could create a life that felt exciting and hopeful again.

I’m not going to say it was easy or that the next day, or even now, I feel like I am living out my destiny, or something as epic as that. Some days are really hard and I miss the people and the experiences that I left behind.

But, one thing I know for sure is that I will never regret making a decision that brought me back to this place of possibility again.

Whatever you may be going through, however dark and uncertain, just know that there can be light at the end of the tunnel.

As my mom always says, “You are stronger than you know…and sometimes you just have to take a leap of faith.”

3 comments

    1. That’s an awesome intention! Mine is along the same lines…DISCOVERY…embracing the journey and not in a hurry to arrive at some “destination.” Hope your year is off to a great start Brad!

Leave a comment